GEMA

Bessere Employee Experience durch Prozessorchestrierung mit Camunda

Industrie:
other
Region:
EMEA

Hauptvorteile

  • Standardbasierte Kollaboration
  • Offene Architektur
  • Orchestrierung verschiedener im Prozess eingebundener Systeme und User Tasks
  • Erhöhte Agilität
  • Gesteigerte Motivation und Zufriedenheit der Mitarbeiter

Camunda Produkte

  • Camunda
  • Tasklist
  • Optimize

Dank Camunda konnte die GEMA den komplexen Kernprozess der Musikdokumentation, der verschiedene Systeme und manuelle Aufgaben umfasst, orchestrieren. Im Bereich der Werbespotdokumentation wurde so eine Automatisierung von 50 % erreicht. Repetitive Aufgaben sind deutlich weniger geworden, sodass sich die Mitarbeiter:innen vermehrt der verbleibenden manuellen Dokumentation widmen können.

Über die GEMA
In der GEMA haben sich Komponisten, Textdichter und Musikverleger als Urheber von Musikwerken zusammengeschlossen. Die GEMA nimmt die Rechte der Musikschaffenden in Deutschland und die Rechte von über zwei Millionen Rechteinhabern aus aller Welt wahr. Sie sorgt dafür, dass die Urheber und Musikverleger an den Einnahmen aus der Nutzung ihrer Musikwerke angemessen beteiligt sind.

Für dieses Fallbeispiel haben wir mit den GEMA-Mitarbeitern:innen Jens Kindermann, (Abteilungsleiter Produkte) sowie Kathrin Poske (Projektleiterin) und David Hammer (Business Analyst) gesprochen. Sie verantworten als Schwerpunkt die Musikdokumentation von Filmen und Serien sowie die Dokumentation und Verwaltung von Soundfiles. Unterstützt wird die GEMA seit der Einführung von Camunda von der cimt AG, einem langjährigen Camunda Partner.

Dokumentation von Musikstücken
Die Nutzung eines Musikstücks in einem Film, einer Serie oder einem Werbespot muss dokumentiert werden. Insgesamt verwaltet die GEMA deshalb ca. 1,5 Mio. audiovisuelle Produktionen und über 20 Mio. musikalische Werke, die in einer Datenbank dokumentiert werden. Die von der GEMA durch die Einräumung von Nutzungsrechten erzielten Erträge werden auf der Grundlage des GEMA-Verteilungsplans an die Berechtigten verteilt. Hier spielen beispielsweise die Häufigkeit der Ausstrahlung eines Films oder die Dauer, über die das Musikstück verwendet wird, eine Rolle. Einmal dokumentiert, kann die Nutzung immer wieder zugeordnet werden, beispielsweise, wenn ein Film erst im Kino erscheint, dann auf DVD verfügbar ist und anschließend im Free-TV ausgestrahlt wird.

Die eingehenden Anmeldungen zu Filmen und Serien erfolgten bislang über PDF-Dateien, die nachgelagerte Arbeitssteuerung auf der Basis von Excel-Dateien, sodass das Team um Jens Kindermann nach Alternativen suchte.

Wie kam es zur Einführung von Camunda?
Als man beschloss, die bisherige Anmeldung um ein Onlineportal zu erweitern, wurde auch der komplette darauf folgende Geschäftsprozess überarbeitet. Die Entscheidung, auf Camunda umzustellen, wurde nach einer Marktanalyse in 2019 getroffen. Ausschlaggebend waren v. a. Camunda Tasklist und die offene Architektur.

Schritt für Schritt zur Vollautomatisierung
Im Onlineportal haben Mitglieder und Lizenznehmer nun die Möglichkeit, Filme und Serien bei der GEMA anzumelden. Die eingehenden Informationen zu den audiovisuellen Produktionen werden nun auf Validität überprüft und durch das Ansprechen eines Matching-Tools mit dem Datenbestand abgeglichen, um eine neue Nutzung auf eine bestehende Dokumentation der audiovisuellen Produktion zuordnen zu können. Eine automatisierte Archivierung der gemeldeten Daten im PDF-Format sichert zudem den Erhalt der Daten und steht als Grundlage für eine mögliche manuelle Dokumentation zur Verfügung.

Allein um unseren Standard zu halten, müssen wir unsere Arbeit digitalisieren. Die Automatisierung und Orchestrierung von verschiedenen Systemen und manuellen Aufgaben spielen dabei eine große Rolle.
Jens Kindermann, Abteilungsleiter Produkte bei der GEMA

Nach diesem ersten, erfolgreich umgesetzten Projekt wurden weitere Elemente des End-to-End-Prozesses automatisiert:

  • Die Prüfung und das Matching auch für die gemeldeten Musikstücke in einer audiovisuellen Produktion wurde automatisiert.
  • Die Dokumentation für Werbespots erfolgt jetzt zu einem großen Teil automatisch: ca. 50 % können durch den neuen Prozess komplett automatisiert zugeordnet und dokumentiert werden.
  • Durch den Einsatz von DMN-Tabellen können vormals von Mitarbeitenden getroffene fachliche Bewertungen einer audiovisuellen Produktion automatisiert werden.

Wettbewerbsfähig dank Automatisierung und Orchestrierung
„Allein um unseren Standard zu halten, müssen wir unsere Arbeit digitalisieren. Die Automatisierung und Orchestrierung von verschiedenen Systemen und manuellen Aufgaben spielen dabei eine große Rolle“, so Jens Kindermann.

Besonders hebt die GEMA die folgenden Vorteile von Camunda hervor:

  • Die offene Architektur, die es ermöglicht, unterschiedliche Systeme einfach in den Prozess einzubinden.
  • BPMN als gemeinsame Sprache für IT, Business und Anwender erleichtert die Zusammenarbeit und erhöht die Agilität.
  • Das Altsystem zur Dokumentation von audiovisuellen Produktionen (auf Basis von Natural) wird nach und nach abgelöst. Zwar ist dieses noch im Prozess integriert, wird aber nur noch als Datenbank genutzt. Die Business-Logik wird durch den Einsatz von BPMN und Camunda außerhalb aufgesetzt.
  • Die Employee Experience ist gestiegen: Mitarbeitende sind motiviert, mit Camunda Tasklist zu arbeiten. Sie haben durch den neuen Prozess einen geringeren Aufwand in der verbleibenden manuellen Dokumentation und die repetitiven Aufgaben nehmen deutlich ab. 

Wie geht es weiter mit Camunda?
Camunda spielt bei der Weiterentwicklung der Arbeitsprozesse und der Datenverarbeitung in der Abteilung Produkte eine zentrale Rolle und soll beispielsweise bei der geplanten Vorgangssteuerung zum Einsatz kommen. Auch andere Bereiche innerhalb der GEMA planen einen verstärkten Einsatz von Camunda, um ihre (teils manuellen) Geschäftsprozesse End-to-End zu orchestrieren und zu automatisieren.

Verwandte Referenzen

Bereit, loszulegen?

Lernen Sie die Plattform kennen oder erhalten Sie eine Demo

GEMA

Improved Employee Experience thanks to Process Orchestration with Camunda

Industry:
other
Region:
EMEA

Key Benefits

  • Standards-based Collaboration
  • Open Architecture
  • Orchestration of different systems and user tasks involved in the process
  • Increased agility
  • Increased motivation and satisfaction of employees

Camunda Products

  • Camunda
  • Tasklist
  • Optimize

Thanks to Camunda, GEMA was able to orchestrate the complex core process of music documentation, which incorporates a variety of systems and manual tasks. It has been possible to achieve 50% automation within the area of commercial documentation. Repetitive tasks have been significantly reduced, which means that employees can devote more time to the remaining manual documentation.

About GEMA
Composers, lyricists and music publishers have joined together in GEMA as authors of musical works. GEMA administers the rights of music creators in Germany and the rights of more than two million owners of rights from all over the world. It ensures that originators and music publishers receive an appropriate share of the income from the use of their musical works.

For this case study, we spoke with GEMA employees Jens Kindermann (Head of Products), Kathrin Poske (Project Manager) and David Hammer (Business Analyst). They are responsible for the music documentation of films and series, and for the documentation and management of sound files. Since the introduction of Camunda, GEMA has been supported by cimt AG, a long-standing Camunda partner.

Documentation of Pieces of Music
The use of a piece of music in a film, series or commercial must be documented. As a result, GEMA manages a total of around 1.5 million audiovisual productions and over 20 million musical works, which are documented in a database. The income generated by GEMA by granting usage rights to these works is distributed to the right holders on the basis of the GEMA distribution plan. For example, the frequency with which a film is broadcast or the duration over which the piece of music is used are significant here. Once documented, use can always be attributed; for example, when a film is first released in cinemas, then when it is made available on DVD, and subsequently broadcast on free TV, the usage rights can be attributed across each subsequent distribution channel.

Until now, incoming registrations for films and series have been made via PDF files and the downstream work control based on Excel files, which has led Jens Kindermann’s team to look for alternatives.

What Is the Story behind the Introduction of Camunda?
When it was decided to add an online portal to the previous registration process, the entire subsequent business process was also revised. The decision to switch to Camunda was made after a market analysis in 2019. Decisive factors were the Camunda Tasklist to be able to integrate manual tasks in the process and the open architecture in order to integrate different systems.

Step-by-Step towards Full Automation
Members and licensees now have the opportunity to register films and series with GEMA by means of the online portal. Incoming information on audiovisual productions is now checked for validity and compared with the database using a matching tool so as to be able to assign a new use to existing documentation for the audiovisual production. The reported data is archived automatically in PDF format to ensure that the data is preserved and is available as a basis for possible additional manual documentation.

Purely in order to maintain our standard, we have to digitize our work. The automation and orchestration of different systems and manual tasks play a major role here.
Jens Kindermann, Head of Products at GEMA

After this first successfully implemented project, GEMA started to incorporate automation into additional elements of the end-to-end process:

  • Examination and matching for reported pieces of music in an audiovisual production are now automated 
  • Documentation for commercials is now largely automated; around 50% of commercials can be assigned and documented automatically using the new process. 
  • Professional assessments of an audiovisual production previously made by employees can now be automated using DMN tables.

Automation and Orchestration in order to Stay Competitive
“Purely in order to maintain our standard, we have to digitize our work. The automation and orchestration of different systems and manual tasks play a major role here,” says Jens Kindermann.

GEMA particularly emphasizes the following advantages of Camunda:

  • Its open architecture means that different systems can be integrated easily into the process.
  • BPMN as a common language for IT and business users facilitates collaboration and increases agility.
  • The legacy system for documenting audiovisual productions (based on Natural) is gradually being replaced. Although this is currently still integrated in the process, it is only used as a database. The business logic is set up externally using BPMN and Camunda.
  • The employee experience has improved; employees are motivated to work with Camunda Tasklist. The new process requires less effort in the remaining manual documentation and the repetitive tasks decrease significantly. 

What’s next for Camunda?
Camunda plays a central role in further developing work processes and data processing in the Products department and is to be used, for example, in planned process control. Other areas within GEMA also anticipate increasing the use of Camunda to orchestrate and automate their (partly manual) business processes end-to-end. 

Similar Case Studies

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs logo
Increasing automation rate by more than 65%; Reduced average claim processing time by over one third; Time to value less than four months
Since introducing Camunda in 2019, Città di Lugano has reduced the time for specific administrative tasks and related costs by 90%, increased the number of online applications for citizens’ certifications by 70% and greatly improved the level of trust between citizens and the public administration.
Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property
BPM for business-driven development; System integration without ESB

Ready to get started?

Explore the platform or get a personal tour