Nehmen Sie an unserer jährlichen Konferenz teil | CamundaCon 2022 - 5. & 6. Oktober

Icon Close
Anmelden

Zymergen

Zusammenspiel von Servern, Robotern und Wissenschaftlern zur Modellierung und Ausführung komplexer Workflows für biologische Produkte

Industrie:
Sonstige
Region:
Nordamerika

Hauptvorteile

  • Orchestrierung von Services
  • Automatisierung manueller Prozesse
  • Offene Architektur und Skalierbarkeit von Camunda Platform

Camunda Produkte

  • Camunda Platform 
  • Camunda Tasklist

Zymergen ist ein US-amerikanisches Molekulartechnologie-Unternehmen, das mit Hilfe von Mikroben neue Produkte und Materialien entwickelt. Zymergen benötigte eine flexible und skalierbare Lösung zur Workflow-Automatisierung, um die Einführung neuer Projekte zu beschleunigen und gleichzeitig die Prozesseffizienz und Anpassungsfähigkeit zu erhalten. Zymergen entschied sich für Camunda Platform, da die Plattform perfekt auf die Anforderungen des Unternehmens zugeschnitten ist.

Hintergrund

Zymergen ist ein Biotech-Unternehmen, das Produkte mithilfe von Mikroben herstellt und verbessert. Es arbeitet mit Unternehmen aus Branchen wie Landwirtschaft, Pharmazeutik, Chemie, Elektronik und Kosmetik zusammen, um die Wirtschaftlichkeit bestehender Moleküle zu verbessern und neue Produkte zu entwickeln.

Zymergen erreicht dies mit einer firmeneigenen Plattform, die Automatisierung und maschinelles Lernen nutzt, um Mikroben schneller und vorhersehbarer zu entwickeln und ein Leistungsniveau zu erreichen, das mit Hypothesentests und Laborforschung allein nicht zu erreichen ist.

Die Produktionsteams von Zymergen entwickeln und testen Mikroorganismen wie Bakterien und Hefen, um die Leistung in groß angelegten Fermentationsprozessen zu verbessern. Dank dieser Methoden können Mikroben Rohstoffe wie Zucker letztlich effizienter in die gewünschten Moleküle umwandeln.

Jeder Entwicklungs- und Testzyklus ermöglicht es Zymergen, mehr Daten darüber zu sammeln, wie eine Mikrobe hergestellt werden kann, die beispielsweise eine größere Menge einer wertvollen Chemikalie produziert. Daher setzt Zymergen auf Prozesse mit denen in diesen Produktionszyklen so viele Informationen wie möglich gewonnen werden können.

Angesichts der steigenden Anzahl an Kunden musste Zymergen die Einführung neuer Projekte beschleunigen und gleichzeitig effiziente und anpassbare Prozesse gewährleisten. Dies erforderte eine Lösung, die sich in die Automatisierungs- und digitalen Systeme des Unternehmens integrieren lässt. Gleichzeitig war eine flexible Schnittstelle für Wissenschaftler und andere Nicht-Programmierer erforderlich, damit diese komplexe Workflows erstellen, aktualisieren und ausführen können. Hier kommt Camunda Platform ins Spiel.

Das Ergebnis

Seit der Implementierung von Camunda Platform ist Zymergen in der Lage, Prozesse deutlich schneller einzuführen, die Anzahl der Abweichungen in den Produktions-Workflows zu reduzieren und den Zeitaufwand für die Datenanalyse zur Fehlersuche und Prozessoptimierung zu minimieren.

Nahezu 400 Prozessdefinitionen unterstützen die Produktions-Workflows von Zymergen. Sie reichen von einfachen „Unit Operations” für einzelne molekularbiologische Schritte bis hin zu High-Level-Definitionen von End-to-End-Produktionslinien. Zymergen nutzt Camunda Platform zur Steuerung all dieser Prozesse.

Da immer mehr Prozesse über Camunda Platform gesteuert werden und das Unternehmen skaliert, nähert sich Zymergen 20.000 Prozessinstanzausführungen pro Monat. Die Anzahl der Instanzausführungen wird auch künftig weiter steigen.

Camunda Platform: Teamübergreifende Lösung

Drei verschiedene Gruppen von Stakeholdern profitieren bei Zymergen von Camunda Platform. Wissenschaftler nutzen sie, um biologische Workflows zu definieren und automatisierte Protokolle in der Produktion auszuführen.

Die Anwender, von denen viele keine Erfahrung in der Softwareentwicklung haben, können direkt Workflows erstellen, die mit Camunda Platform ausführbar sind.

Die Mitglieder der Produktionsteams nutzen Camunda Tasklist, um auf Anweisungen zuzugreifen, die sie durch die Fabrikprozesse führen, für die sie verantwortlich sind. Dadurch können Prozesse wiederholt und ohne umfangreiche Schulungen ausgeführt werden. Darüber hinaus müssen sich die Anwender nicht darum kümmern, die zu einem Prozess gehörenden Daten hochzuladen — das übernehmen die Workflows in der Camunda Engine.

Das Technologieteam nutzt Camunda Platform im Hintergrund, um die für die Protokollausführung, Datenerfassung und -verarbeitung erforderlichen Dienste zu orchestrieren. Erreicht ein Operator beispielsweise einen Workflow-Schritt, der eine Entscheidung über das Bestehen oder Nichtbestehen einer Probe erfordert, nutzt Zymergen Camunda Platform, um den entsprechenden Algorithmus für Qualitätsentscheidungen zu initiieren. Workflows können auf Grundlage dieser Entscheidungen fortgesetzt werden, ohne dass eine manuelle Orchestrierung der einzelnen Schritte erforderlich ist.

Die Implementierung

Zymergen ist davon überzeugt, dass die Optimierung von Mikroben genauso zuverlässig und vorhersehbar ist wie die von anderen Produktionsmaterialien, wenn man den technischen Ansatz auf den Prozess selbst überträgt. Die Workflow Engine von Camunda hat dies ermöglicht.

Zymergen nutzt die Spring-Boot-Integration von Camunda zur Projektimplementierung. Für die Interaktion mit verschiedenen Software- und Automatisierungsdiensten wird dann hauptsächlich Java verwendet.

Die Kombination von Spring und Camunda macht es einfach, Technologien wie REST oder Publish/Subscribe zu nutzen, um die Systeme zu koordinieren und zu orchestrieren. Mithilfe dieser Techniken hat das Entwicklungsteam eine Bibliothek von Aufrufaktivitäten entwickelt, die mit Daten und Automatisierungssystemen interagieren und von Wissenschaftlern genutzt werden, um biologisch signifikante Workflows zusammenzustellen. 

Zymergen benötigte eine Workflow-Lösung, die die Modellierung komplexer Herstellungsprozesse, die Anzeige von Schritt-für-Schritt-Anweisungen für Menschen und Roboter sowie die Zwei-Wege-Integration mit unseren Datenmanagementsystemen ermöglicht. Camunda bot uns die Möglichkeit, unsere Automatisierungs- und Digitalsysteme umfassend zu integrieren und gleichzeitig eine flexible Schnittstelle für Wissenschaftler und andere Nicht-Programmierer bereitzustellen, um diese komplexen Workflows zu erstellen, zu aktualisieren und auszuführen.
Aaron Kimball, CTO bei Zymergen

Verwandte Referenzen

The Visana Group
Der schweizerische Kranken- und Unfallversicherer Visana visualisiert seine Prozesse mit Camunda Optimize und verarbeitet rund 32.000 Dokumente pro Tag.
Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property
Steuerung der Schutzrechtsverwaltung; BPM für fachlich getriebene Entwicklung; Systemintegration ohne ESB
Babylon Health logo
Babylons Ziel ist es, jedem Menschen auf der Welt Zugang zu bezahlbarer medizinischer Versorgung zu ermöglichen. Mit der Einführung von Camunda möchte Großbritanniens größter Medizindienstleister sicherstellen, dass jeder Patient die passende Behandlung erhält und die klinische Sicherheit in einem komplexen Ökosystem mitarbeitergesteuerter Workflows gewährleistet ist.

Join our largest event of the year | CamundaCon 2022 October 5-6

Icon Close
Register

Zymergen

Bringing together servers, robots and scientists to create and execute complex workflows for biological products

Industry:
other
Region:
North America

Key Benefits

  • Orchestration of services
  • Automation of manual processes
  • Open Architecture and scalability of Camunda Platform

Camunda Products

  • Camunda Platform
  • Camunda Tasklist

Zymergen is a US-based molecular technology company developing new products and materials with engineered microbes. Zymergen needed a flexible and scalable workflow automation solution to expedite the process of onboarding new projects, while still maintaining process efficiency and customizability. Zymergen decided Camunda Platform was the perfect fit for its requirements. Since implementing Camunda, the company has increased the speed of onboarding new projects, reduced manufacturing workflow deviations, and reduced time spent analyzing data for process optimization.

The Background

Zymergen is a molecular technology company that creates and improves products using biology. It works with companies in industries including agriculture, pharmaceuticals, chemicals/materials, electronics, and personal care, to both improve the economics of existing molecules, as well as develop new products with engineered microbes.

Zymergen accomplishes this with a proprietary platform that uses automation and machine learning to engineer microbes faster, more predictably, and to a level of performance previously unattainable with hypothesis testing and bench science alone.

Zymergen’s manufacturing teams engineer and test microorganisms such as bacteria and yeast to improve performance in large-scale fermentation processes. These methods ultimately help microbes more efficiently transform raw input, such as sugar, into molecules of interest.

Each build and test cycle allows Zymergen to collect more data about how to produce a microbe that, for example, produces a higher yield of a valuable chemical. Consequently, Zymergen relies on processes that allow for capturing as much information as possible from these manufacturing cycles.

With an increase in clients, Zymergen needed to reduce the time required to onboard new projects while still guaranteeing efficient and customizable processes. This required a solution that could integrate with its automation and digital systems while providing a flexible interface for scientists and other non-programmers to create, update, and execute these complex workflows. This is where Camunda Platform comes in.

The Impact

Since implementing Camunda Platform, Zymergen has been able to increase the speed of process onboarding, reduce the number of manufacturing workflow deviations, and minimize the time spent analyzing data for process troubleshooting and optimization.

Nearly 400 process definitions support Zymergen’s manufacturing workflows, ranging from low-level “unit operations” for discrete molecular biology steps, to high-level definitions of end-to-end manufacturing lines. Zymergen uses Camunda Platform to govern all of these processes.

As the number of processes governed by Camunda Platform grows, and as Zymergen’s organization scales, the company is approaching 20,000 process instance executions per month, and this number will continue to grow.

Camunda Platform: A Cross-team Solution

Three different groups of stakeholders at Zymergen benefit from Camunda Platform. Scientists use Camunda to define biological workflows to run automated protocols in manufacturing operations.

These users, many of whom do not have software engineering backgrounds, are able to directly construct workflows that are executable with Camunda Platform.

Operators on Zymergen’s manufacturing teams use Camunda Task list to access instructions that guide them through the factory processes for which they are responsible. This allows processes to be executed repeatedly and without extensive training. Additionally, operators don’t need to remember to upload the data associated with a process, workflows in the Camunda Engine take care of that.

The technology team leverages Camunda Platform behind the scenes to orchestrate the services needed to execute protocols and collect and process data. For example, when an operator reaches a workflow step needing a sample pass/fail decision, Zymergen uses Camunda Platform to initiate the relevant algorithm to make quality decisions. Workflows can proceed based on those decisions without requiring manual orchestration of each step.

The Implementation

Zymergen believes that the way to optimize microbes as reliably and predictably as other manufacturing materials is to bring the engineering approach to the process itself. Camunda’s workflow engine has enabled this.

Zymergen uses Camunda’s Spring Boot integration to implement a project. They then primarily use Java to interact with different software and automation services in their Zymergen ecosystem.

The combination of Spring and Camunda makes it easy to utilize technologies like REST or publish/subscribe to coordinate and orchestrate Zymergen’s systems. Using these techniques, the Zymergen software team has developed a library of Call Activities that interact with data and automation systems, which scientists use to assemble biologically-significant workflows.

Zymergen needed a workflow solution that allows modeling of complex biological manufacturing processes, display of step-by-step directions for humans and robotics, and two-way integration with our data management systems. Camunda gave us the balanced ability to deeply integrate with our automation and digital systems, while providing a flexible interface for scientists and other non-programmers to create, update, and execute these complex workflows.
Aaron Kimball, CTO at Zymergen

Similar Case Studies

Münchener Hypothekenbank eG updated its process engine with Camunda and developed a central task list to manage manual tasks. The result? Shorter reaction times and happy staff whose work is a pleasure with the new system.
SV Informatik provides custom IT solutions for insurance companies. Since introducing Camunda, numerous processes have been automated across divisions, resulting in significant time savings. The automation of manual tasks has also shortened response times, leading to faster processing times and subsequently an improved customer experience.
R+V Versicherung AG has redesigned its BPM architecture with Camunda and is now able to develop, update and operate its process applications locally. This increased agility means new requirements can be responded to more quickly and can immediately contribute to the company’s success.
3ap implements Camunda’s SaaS offering to streamline the end-to-end guest journey, set to disrupt the hospitality industry with SV Group’s modern hotel experience.
How AEB is revolutionizing process automation within international logistics, enabling thousands of global companies to automate business-critical processes using Camunda.
Automating order management for better customer experiences; Enables telcos to offer and process individualized campaigns, create new streams of revenue; Highly scalable Camunda-powered solution delivering up to 1,000 process instances started per second